I’m So Sorry…

Its interesting how something so simple can be so complex...

The word “sorry” is a fascinating word, as our literary friend Webster says that “sorry” is an expression “of sorrow, regret, or penitence”.  In addition we typically express this “feeling” from our person to that of another person to convey our regret for a situation or action which we may have either directly caused, or simply have knowledge of.  As if we say something hurtful unintentionally we will say “I’m Sorry” or maybe it’s to acknowledge the loss of another by saying “I’m Sorry”.

In this the word “sorry” becomes a dynamic word in being expressive to share two sides of one coin, yet there is an interesting state of the word.  Yet, maybe let me rephrase this to the creation of a statement of absolute if you will.  As the word “so” can be an adjective, adverb, or conjunction which makes it an interesting filler word in general as “boy that is so cool” or here as we are talking “I’m so sorry” as there seems  to be some magic here.  As in the past we’ve on these pages waxed about trigger words which mean something in our mind.  The same is true here too, this in turn is what I find interesting about the whole thing.

Why is this interesting you ask, simple as waiting here at the airport (my second home), the flight is delayed and there is a passenger ahead of me in line arguing with the agent about this fact.  The discussion has been going for a few minutes, however it came to an abrupt stop where the two parted in silence.  My mind noticed the lack of droning conversation which was replaced by silence then an opening in line.  I quickly thought back to the last words and they were “I’m so sorry”.  What struck me is the agent was apologetic prior to this point yet was ignored by the combatant travel till the addition of the word “so” with “sorry”.

Thinking back, the first place where I recall this phrase had logged itself in my mind was with the passing of my grandmother many years ago as this was the exact phrase the hospital staff started their announcement with which created its own trigger point in my mind as a young man.  As when I hear the phrase, it’s almost as an absolute as taken place and there is no way to go back and the only way is forward.  As the passenger ahead of me was a middle aged adult, I’m sure he had also heard this before in the same context as most adults reading this has a there isn’t a shadow of any doubt that death is the most absolute thing there is…

About Joseph Campbell

As a strong believer in the fact that "people work for people", it has been a life driver to better to understand the complexities of the various aspects which drive efficiency within this axiom, especially the concepts of leadership. Supporting this, I have been fortunate enough to having experienced this as leader on a global basis over the last decade and half. During this time it has been clear there are three core drivers being Life, Leadership and Economics.
This entry was posted in Life... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

