Hair…

In tough financial times the tough get their hair cut (and buy cosmetics).

Something struck me the other day as I was sitting there getting my hair cut as this is a story in itself, as here it is Friday before Labor Day weekend which  is the last big hurrah of summer in the states which means a long weekend as the actual holiday is on a Monday  so people are trying to make that get away happen.

However there I was in a major mall (thinking it would be empty, not)  needing my hair cut as I had procrastinated too as it was with all my travels delayed  getting  the mop on my head cut and yes at this age I’m happy to still have hair.  Yet this is always such a chore and today was no different as I searched in vain across all the hair salons in the mall to get someone to take on the challenge yet all said they were booked to closing time!   This just goes to show that the economy is really bad, as they where chuck full of women and you say that’s not surprising, yet I say look a little bit deeper.

Western style economics isn’t driven on survival as its in fact driven by comfort as for the most we’ve climbed a bit up that ladder Abraham Maslow  built us and we want to seek for ourselves those items which make us feel good about ourselves and provide us position yet in tight economic times that is a challenge which takes us further back to another story.  As here it was the day before Christmas Eve 2009 I believe and as I was getting into town from a business trip got an email from an ole friend saying he was back in town for the holidays and would I like to get together for an early dinner?

Having not seen him for several years I jumped at the chance and we along with another friend met and the conversation quickly turn to the economy which was still in the dumps and heading south to which I asked how do we make money on this.  To my surprise the response from my worldly friend was woman’s cosmetic’s, to which he received back a funny stare from me as I said but those are discretionary purchases. Well he went on to explain the bottom line is people want to feel good about themselves so women who can now (because of the economy) not drop thousands of dollars at jewelry stores (yes they were empty)  as they may of once done can surely could find money at the bottom of the purse for a color and cut.

Now you my friend did say they may down scale their purchase of their cosmetic services and product purchases however they will still make them and most likely more from a quantity perspective.  So I did the next logical thing and mention this was rather chauvinistic, yet my friend retorted back not so as they were also doing this for the men in their life too as the money dwindled as he put it the last thing a man wanted was an ugly as well as unhappy wife or girl friend.  Well that made the point for me as since then I’ve watched quietly my own wife’s buying habits which have match those predicted by my friend as well as I asked Friday why I couldn’t be seen (since I’ve been to many of same these salons over the past several years) to this I heard color’s & highlights.

So the next time you want your hair cut, you might want to plan to wait a bit longer as I’m sorry to report the Salon index still shows significant weakness in the economy…

About Joseph Campbell

As a strong believer in the fact that "people work for people", it has been a life driver to better to understand the complexities of the various aspects which drive efficiency within this axiom, especially the concepts of leadership. Supporting this, I have been fortunate enough to having experienced this as leader on a global basis over the last decade and half. During this time it has been clear there are three core drivers being Life, Leadership and Economics.
This entry was posted in Economics..., Life... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

